2016 – Inverclyde Burns Youth Festival

20160319 Schools Competition 001a (P)The 29th Annual Inverclyde Burns Youth Festival was held in Ardgowan Primary School, Greenock on Saturday 19th March, 2016.

The Festival welcomed Guests – Councillor Robert Moran, Provost of Inverclyde, Mrs Wilma Bain, Corporate Director of Education & Communities, Mrs Christine MacLeod, President of Greenock Burns Club, Mrs Isabel Lind OBE, Convenor of the Youth Festival committee

The audience were presented with variety of excellent recitations and singing from the young people represented. All of the guests expressed their enjoyment of the Festival and the young talent that exists in Inverclyde. They also thanked the parents, tutors and teachers for assisting the young people to an excellent level in confidence. Isabel Lind commented that the standard in the singing categories was the best she has heard in the 29 years of the Festival.

She thanked Inverclyde Council Education Services for the use of Ardgowan PS, which looks fantastic after its recent renovation. She also expressed her gratitude to the adjudicators for giving of their time and expertise. A final thank you went to the Youth Festival Committee for their great work over the recent months on organising the event and to Greenock Burns Club for their continued sponsorship.

The winners will be invited to compete at the Robert Burns World Federation – National Primary Schools Finals, which will be held in Edinburgh on St. George’s School for Girls on Saturday 7th May, 2016.

The competitions for Primary 4-5 and Primary 6-7 were for Recitation, Verse, Instrumental and Art.

The Schools represented this year were Aileymill PS, All Saints PS, Craigmarloch School, Gourock PS, Inverkip PS, Kilmacolom PS and St. Patrick’s PS.

Recitation P4-5

Winner – Andrew McClure – “Willie Wastle”

2nd Place – Summer Morgan – “Up in the Morning”

3rd Place – Lucy Taylor – “Up in the Morning”


Winner – Christopher Todd – “The Deil’s awa wi’ the Excisman”

Recitation P6-7

Poppy Paterson – “Scot’s Wha Hae”

Singing P6-7

Winner – Zara Hall – “Auld Lang Syne”

2nd Place – Ruaridh McBain – “Flow Gently Sweet Afton”

3rd Place – Poppy Paterson – “Ye Jacobites by Name”

Instrumental P6-7

Winner – Ruaridh McBain (Violin) – “Auld Lang Syne”

2nd Place – Rachel Ruddy (Violin) – “Auld Lang Syne”

Art Competition


Winner – Daniella Murray P5 – Craigmarloch School

2nd Equal – Cha Picken P4 – All Saints PS

2nd Equal – Conal McKeeman P7 – All Saints PS


Winner – Courtney Jannetts

Highly Commended – Beth Donnachie

Highly Commended – Cameron Blackely

Highly Commended – Liam Cheshire

Overall Winners


George Couper Trophy – Andrew McClure


Supreme Award Shield – Zara Hall


Cordellia Francis Trophy – Courtney Jannets


Recitation – Miss Rana Keane

Singing – Mrs Elsa Hamilton

Instrumental – Mr Gerard Gordon

Art – Miss Rana Keane

Accompanist – Mr Gerard Gordon

Photo Galleryhere

You may also like...