2017 – Annual General Meeting

On Thursday 20th April, 2017, The Mother Club held it’s Annual General Meeting.

President Jim Donnelly welcomed all present, thereafter Margaret Dickson, Hon. Secretary, noted Apologies for Absence.

A moments silence was then observed for members who had passed away since the last AGM.

The Minutes of the last AGM were read and approved, as were the Annual Accounts. This was followed by the various Annual Reports from the President, Treasurer, Secretary and the various Convenors.

During the election of the Executive Committee, in a somewhat emotional part of the proceedings, outgoing President Jim Donnelly installed his son Jamie Donnelly as President for the year 2017 – 2018 and invested his with his chain of office, which received great applause.

He informed the members that Jamie is the youngest President of the Mother Club since 1844! The President at that time was Colin Rae Brown (1844-1845 & 1847), who was heavily involved in founding the Burns Club of London and The Burns Federation. He also stated that it is the first time in the clubs history that a President has immediately followed his father as President of the Greenock Burns Club.

Jamie then thanked the members for the great honour and took control of the remaining part of the AGM.

Jamie’s first duty was to invest Jim Donnelly with his Past President’s badge. He thanked Jim on the work he carried out during the past year as President and stated that it was a pleasure to accompany him on most of his engagements. 

As the Office of Senior Vice-President was now vacant, Mrs June Forbes was elected into this Office. President Jamie had much pleasure in investing June with his Badge of Office. He thanked her for accepting the post and could not think of a more worthy member to be Senior Vice-President / President Elect. June of one of the Clubs longest members and had worked tirelessly for the Club for many years.

As is the tradition, Senior Vice-President June Forbes had the pleasure of investing Alan Beck, who had been elected as Junior vice-President.

The President acknowledged the retirement from the Executive Committee of three members and praised them for their sterling work during their time on the Committee. After the usual elections, Christine Reddy, Christine Currie, Lynsey Currie and Iain White, were welcomed as newly elected members of the Executive Committee. 

After the Senior Vice-President June Forbes gave the traditional Vote of Thanks, the meeting was closed and all enjoyed a welcome refreshment.

See Photo Gallery

See Syllabus



You may also like...